Portlaoise Panthers land multiple Basketball Awards

Portlaoise Panthers land multiple Basketball Awards

“In the Women’s Division One, Edel Thornton of Trinity Meteors has been named the Player of the Year, Ciara Byrne of Portlaoise Panthers has secured the Young Player of the Year award, while Trinity Meteors’ head coach, Vinny O’Keeffe has won the Coach of the Year award following a big season for the club that saw them crowned league champions and Northern Conference winners. Both Edel and Ciara will pick up a second award on the day as Edel has also been named the NBCC Colleges Division One Female Player of the Year for her role with Trinity College Dublin, while Ciara has been awarded the Schools U19 Girls Player of the Year following a hugely successful year with Scoil Chríost Rí, Portlaoise.”

“Elsewhere, Portlaoise Panthers has been named the Area Board Club of the Year, while Derek Hegarty of Rebel Wheelers has been named the Wheelchair Basketball Men’s Player of the Year for the second year in a row, with Jodie Waite of Limerick Scorpions named the Wheelchair Basketball Female Player of the Year.

Yippee! Dancing Panthers in Laois!

Portlaoise Panthers’ club, player & coach honoured for incredible season

The President’s Lifetime Achievement Awards were also revealed today with Pat Critchley, Frank Cashman and Ann Diffney announced as this year’s recipients.”

Congratulations are also due to Gillian Wheeler who won the U-18 Female Player of the Year and Jack Dooley who won Women’s Underage Coach of the Year.

For a full list of winners click here.

Text Credit: Basketball Ireland