No appetite for change in Laois GAA

No appetite for change in Laois GAA

The result of this evening’s county convention is that there will be no change of personnel among the Laois County Board’s officers.

Of the executive posts the top two most prestigious positions of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were fought over. The outgoing Chairperson and Portlaoise GAA member Peter O’Neill and Vice-Chairperson and Clough-Ballacolla member Tom Clear retained their positions for 2021.

Mr O’Neill beat off the challenge of Portarlington GAA member Kieran Leavy on a vote of 95-55. The battle for the post of Vice-Chairperson was much, much closer however. Mr Clear retained his post with the South Laois man having a mere four votes to spare in the face of the laudable challenge of Cork native and O’ Dempsey’s member Bryan Breen on a vote of 77 to 73.

No appetite for change in Laois GAA 📷 Evan Treacy Photography

The Leinster Council Delegates from the county for 2021 will be PJ Kelly and Richie Kennedy. They polled 68 and 56 votes respectively while the former County Board Chairperson Brian Allen received 15 votes. There were 11 spoiled votes in total in this contest.