Latest Laois Sport: Oughaval AC shine at Laois Cross Country Championships

Latest Laois Sport: Oughaval AC shine at Laois Cross Country Championships

Runners from Oughaval AC head home with big medal haul

Oughaval AC, the Vicarstown based athletic club in the yellow singlets, combined a big splash of colour and some fine running at todays Laois Athletics Masters and Juvenile B Cross Country Championships. Were it not for the damp conditions and autumn leaves, the numerous yellow tops would remind one of the daffodils in spring.

With runners in all juvenile races, from U10 to U16, along with the Junior and Masters grades, the club had one of it’s best days in recent times.

Sean Gleeson, Michael Dunne and Jacob Thomas made up the Boys U10 Team, with Ailbhe Ryan our only representative in Girls U10.

Oisin Maguire and Blake Thomas were our Boys U12’s, with Oisin finishing a brilliant 4th

Girls U12 were well represented by Niamh Gleeson, Ella Deegan, Laoise Dunne and Emily Browne, finishing 3rd team.

Auryn Ryan was our only runner in Boys U14. Girls U14 was our best showing of the day  – with Olivia O’Flanagan literally running away with the race, closely followed by her sister Lauren and the most improved athlete in the club, Leah Foley. in winning the team category, they were well supported by our second team of Heidi Browne, Cliodhna O’Flanagan, Aine Goulding and Roisin Gleeson.

In Boys U16, Cormac Foley and Conor Byrne finished really strongly.

The junior girls race runs along with the Masters Women, and Della McLoughlin led the field to win the Junior Race.

The Over 35 team of Paula Guinan, Martin Dunne and Hilary Tracey  worked their socks off on this hilly and damp 3500m course, with Paula winning the O35 category and the team winning bronze in the O35 team.

The over 45 team of Frances Lalor, Catherine Stapleton and Suzanne Scully had plenty of tough competition, where Cathering finished second in the O55 individual category.

In the 6,000m junior mens race, Richard and Daniel  McLoughlin were 2nd and 3rd respectively, with Richard, Daniel, Ruairi Jago and Cillian Whearty the run-away winner of the team category.

We have never had so many runners in Masters Men, with James Ryan, Darragh Mulhall, Finian Guinan, Tom O’Connell and Damien Behan on the O35 team, and Paddy McLoughlin, John Boland, Sean McEvoy, Tom Byrne and Jimmy McLoughlin on the O45 team.