Latest Laois Sport: Leinster Badminton success for Laois

Latest Laois Sport: Leinster Badminton success for Laois

Laois  Badminton wins big on Leinster stage

Laois badminton qualified to compete in the Inter-County Leinster Championship at the weekend in grades 4, 5 and 6, with players from Portlaoise Badminton Club. All three teams competed in knock out rounds in February and beat opponents from Meath, Longford and Wicklow to make it through to semi-finals. 

The semi-finals were held in Leinster’s Baldoyle Badminton Centre in Dublin. Both teams from grade 4 and 5 fought hard against 2 Carlow teams and were narrowly beaten to the final. 

The grade 6 team were crowned Leinster Champions after defeating Meath 4-1 in the semi-final and Carlow 5-1 in the final. They were also presented with the President’s Cup which was an award for Team of the Tournament on the day. They will progress to the semi-final of the All-Ireland Championship in Dublin on Sunday 7th of May. 

Roy Cobbe, Chairman of Portlaoise Badminton Club and Honorary Life Member for exceptional service to Leinster Badminton, said “It is great to see Laois Badminton doing so well. It is a great achievement for the players for both club and county”. 

Further information on Portlaoise Badminton Club is available on both Facebook and Instagram @portlaoisebadmintonclub, where they keep you updated on training, competitions, and social events within the club. If you are interested in giving badminton a try, reach out online or you can contact Roy on 0872661193. 

Photo: Grade 6 Laois Team – Leinster Champions 

Players L-R: Adam Holden, Kevin Connolly, Claire O’Neill, David McElhannan, Noelle Clancy, Mary Dobson, Kevin Grace, Edel Clancy 

Photo: Grades 4, 5 and 6 Laois 

Players L-R:

Back Row: Dave Williams, David McElhannan, Joe Hargreaves, David Casey, Kevin Connolly, Kevin Grace, Adam Holden, Gene O Connor

Middle Row: Maurice Harrington, Conor Deegan, Jasna Reynolds, Wendy Carry, Claire O Neill, Anne Pyke, Mary Dobson

Front Row: Pauline O’Sullivan, Edel Clancy, Noelle Clancy, Cyrena Peavoy, Lucy Grace