Latest Laois Event: Mountrath Community School celebrates their students’ achievements

Latest Laois Event: Mountrath Community School celebrates their students’ achievements

Student Achievement Celebration Day in Mountrath CS

Mountrath Community School, reverberated with applause and jubilation on Wednesday, May 24th, as students, staff, and special guests gathered to celebrate an outstanding day of achievements. The occasion, aptly named Student Achievement Celebration Day, brought together both junior and senior students to recognize their exceptional accomplishments in various facets of school life, encompassing academics, sports, and more.

The event was graced by the presence of distinguished guests, Laois superstar Erone Fitzpatrick and Former Lieutenant General of the Irish Defence Forces Mr. Conor O’Boyle. 

The ceremony kicked off with a heartwarming speech by the school principal Kathryn O’Brien, who commended the students for their relentless pursuit of excellence and highlighted the importance of hard work and dedication. Aoibheann Phelan Dalton and Ciaran Culleton handed over their Head Girl and Head Boy duties to Sarah Cuddy and Ryan Conlon. 

Well done to all the deserving students. 

Winners on the day included 

Overall Student of the year –  Ellen Rowney 

Sr Mary Sheedy Cup – Adam Nevin 

Best all-round Sportsperson of the Year – Grainne Delaney

Martin Moore Award (Senior Hurler)  – Tom Cuddy

Irish  – Eva Cullinan

English – Dylan Kelly

History / Geography- Luke Makin

Music  – Dylan Cahill

French – Daniel Podmisanins

German / Physics- Fial Dalton

Home Economics – Grainne Delay

Business – Aoibheann Phelan Dalton

Accountancy – Mark Cusack

LCVP – Aisling McEvoy 

LCA Academics  – Mark Shatolov & Noelle Byrne (5th year)

Sarah Walker & Cathal Burke (6th year)  

Chemistry – Adam Neville

Biology – Ciaran Culleton

Agricultural Science – Colin Scully 

Engineering – Rory Creegan

Maths/DCG – Bobby Kealy

Construction  – Ross Handcock