Laois Election candidates announced

Laois Election candidates announced

Laois County Council will see a reduced number of  Councillors returned once the smoke clears after the 2014 Local Elections. Just 19 public representatives will get to sit in the council chamber when it returns after the 23 May local elections. This is close to a 20% reduction from the previous 25 councillors. The county is carved into three municipal districts instead of the previous five electoral areas. The three districts are Mountmellick/Borris-in-Ossory, Portlaoise and Portarlington/Graiguecullen.

In the 2009 local elections, 25 seats were contested by 60 candidates. The Election result saw Fine Gael secure ‘top spot’ with 12 seats, Fianna Fáil came in second with eight, three independents were elected as was one candidate each for Sinn Féin and Labour.

On this occasion the Portlaoise District sees 16 candidates go before the Laois electorate. The same number is standing before the electorate of the Mountmellick/Borris-In-Ossory district. The Portarlington-Graiguecullen District sees the smallest field of candidates with just 13 seeking the votes of their fellow citizens.

Click here for the full candidate lists: Portlaoise DistrictMountmellick/Borris-In-Ossory DistrictPortarlington-Graiguecullen District.