Fifty years and counting for Crettyard Ladies GFC

Fifty years and counting for Crettyard Ladies GFC

Crettyard Ladies GFC to Celebrate 50th Anniversary

Crettyard Ladies Gaelic Football Club (GFC) will be celebrating their 50th anniversary on Saturday 23rd March in the Talbot Hotel, Carlow.

As part of this celebration, the Club will also be celebrating their Junior County Champions team of 2023.

The night is expected to be a major celebration of the Club’s successes over the years, with music, entertainment and reminiscing.

There are few tickets remaining for the dinner dance, which can be purchased from any committee member or in Behan’s Bar, Tolerton.

Crettyard Ladies GFC was formed in late 1975, after the men’s Club received a letter from Connie Conway, seeking GAA Clubs to form ladies teams across the County.

Throughout the years, the Club was pioneered by Mary Wheatley, Nancy Kelly, Mary Lennon and Connie Conway. These 4 ladies will be recognised on the night for their contribution to ladies football in Crettyard.

Crettyard Ladies have won 11 senior county championships, 2 Intermediate Championships, 3 Junior Championships and 4 Minor Championships amongst a number of juvenile titles.

The Club won its first senior county championship in 1978 and subsequently won and became the first-ever senior Leinster club champions.

In 1993, the Club reached the All-Ireland senior club championship final, but were beaten by a strong Ballymacarbry team from Waterford.

Off the field, Mary Wheatley served as President of the LGFA and Chairperson of both the Ladies Leinster Council and Laois Ladies County Board for decades.

The Club folded in 2013, but was re-established in late 2018. Since then the Club has gone on to win an U14 final in 2022 and a Junior County Championship in 2023.