Courtwood League Champs!

Courtwood League Champs!

Well done to the Intermediate Footballers of Courtwood who did the business in last night’s ACFL Division 3 Final with a 1-9 to 0-7 win over their near-neigbours O’Dempseys Gfc.

It wasn’t the greatest game of football ever on a difficult night with a swirling wind and rain at  O’ Moore Park, Portlaoise but it was nice to see the end of the Ballybrittas-based club’s league hoodoo after an agonising 53 years!

Courtwood led 1-8 to 0-3 at half time with Danny Luttrell deadly accurate from placed balls throughout and Matthew Kelly forcing the goal home from close range after good work from Niall Donoher. Courtwood only managed one point, from captain Paddy Wilson, in the second half however, but it was enough as the Ballybrittas boys restricted their opponents to just 4 white flags.

Team; 1. Eamonn O’ Connell 2. Robert Wilson 3. Andrew Mulhare 4. Sean Fowler 28. Tom O’Connell 6. Rob Flynn 7. Robert Boland 8. Paddy Wilson (capt) 10. Mark O’Halloran 9. Danny Luttrell 11. Colm Wilson 12. Niall Donoher 29. Aidan Ryan 14. David Duffy 24. Matthew Kelly.
Subs; 15. Ian Corcoran for Fowler (inj, HT), 25. Conor Luttrell for Ryan (HT), 19. Barry Donnelly for T O’Connell (49 mins), 13. Liam Duffy for Kelly (57 mins).

And the rest of this year’s Courtwood GAA 31-man panel is Conor Hogan, Seán McLoughlin, Brian Hogan, Liam Hogan, Enda Dunne, Fergal Byron, Matt Malone, Thomas Behan, Stephen Wilson, Luke Doyle, Denis Donoher and Mick Hogan.