Courtwood edge out O’ Dempsey’s in League decider

Courtwood edge out O’ Dempsey’s in League decider

The Wood on top in local derby final

Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 3 FInal

Courtwood 1-9 O’Dempsey’s 0-7

Laois junior champions last year Courtwood added another trophy to their collection with a deserved 1-9 to 0-7 win over their neighbours O’Dempsey’s in the the Division 3 final in Páirc Uí Mhórdha, Portlaoise.

Having topped the league table at the end of the regular season, Courtwood entered the game as favourites against the Killenard lads’ second team but against a strong wind, Eugene Nolan was first to find the mark after just two minutes to give O’Dempsey’s a good start.

Courtwood taste league success!

Courtwood taste league success!

Danny Luttrell then began to punish indiscipline in the O’Dempsey’s defence converting five successive frees before Richard Whelehan and Mark O’Halloran swapped points. Colm Wilson and Luttrell made it 0-8 to 0-2 before Matthew Kelly bundled the ball over the line after Kevin Culleton could only parry Niall Donoher’s shot for a goal.

Matthew Finlay reduced the margin by one shortly before half time leaving O’Dempsey’s 1-8 to 0-3 down at half time.

O’Dempsey’s hit three points early in the second half and looked like making a real fight of it before Courtwood captain Paddy Wilson kicked their only score of the second half.

However, the last quarter was a terrific rearguard action by Courwood who defended excellently, conceding just a Johnny Kelly free to run out five point winners.

Courtwood; Eamonn O’Connell, Robert Wilson, Andrew Mulhare, Sean Fowler, Tom O’Connell, Robbie Flynn, Robert Boland, Paddy Wilson (0-1), Mark O’Halloran (0-1), Danny Luttrell (0-6), Colm Wilson (0-1), Niall Donoher, Aidan Ryan, David Duffy, Matthew Kelly (1-0). Subs; Conor Luttrell for Ryan (HT), Ian Corcoran for Fowler (inj, HT), Barry Donnelly for T O’Connell (42 mins), Liam Duffy for Kelly (52 mins).

O’Dempseys; Kevin Culleton, Barry Finlay, Shane Deverell, Chris McCormack, Richard Whelehan (0-1), John Paul Kehoe, Tomás Finlay, Darran Finlay, Adrian Dunne, Liam Finlay, Eugene Nolan (0-1), Bobby Sweeney, Matthew Finlay (0-4), Tommy Kehoe, Johnny Kelly (0-1). Subs; Billy Walsh for Sweeney (42 mins), Simon Powell for L Finlay (43 mins), Ciaran Haberlin for Dunne (45 mins), Enda Behan for Whelehan (55 mins).

Referee; Seamus Mulhare (The Heath)