Amazing standard at St. Mary’s CBS SciFest 2024

Amazing standard at St. Mary’s CBS SciFest 2024

Judges on day had difficult job choosing winners

There was a great atmosphere at the competition all day. The students presented the research on their projects which they had been working on since January. Each group had to complete all three elements of the competition, a poster, a report booklet with their full write up and their oral presentation. Music was provided by Antoni Calka, Clinton O Ejiofor (both 5th Year) and Matthew O’Rourke (TY) and really added to the day to give a lively atmosphere. The SciFest competition was visited by St. Mary’s CBS 1st and 2nd year students, staff and parents, all who voted for their top project. 

We had 18 wonderful external judges and a SciFest representative from Dublin, all tasked with the difficult job of choosing the winners. 

The winners are as follows:

Overall St. Mary’s CBS SciFest 2024 winners: Matthew O’Rourke, Jack Fennel and Tom. Delaney for their project titled “Does the genre of music affect the speed a person runs”.

Runner up Winners are: Jack Donoghue, Samuel Duffy and Jake Guidera for their project titled “Comparing CO2 production between different yeasts”.

3rd place Award: Liam Dermody, Barry Connolly and Ethan Kelly for their project titled: “Moss Killers” {purple ribbon}.

The EirGrid Cleaner Climate Award: Odi Obi and Paul Whyte for their project titled “Which light bulb is most energy efficient?”.

Student Choice Award: Jack O’Sullivan, Eoin Carey and Aiden FitzPatrick for their project “How sugar affects the density of fizzy drinks”.